Author Topic: magnification  (Read 4993 times)

Offline franslemmens

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
magnification
« on: November 28, 2008, 04:53:59 AM »

I use iMac (OSX10.4.11) and PhotoMechanic 4.5.4

Is there also a possibility to see the image in a magnification like the magnification of 100%
in PhotoShop (using raw files).

Thanks again,
Marjolijn van Steeden

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24681
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: magnification
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 06:18:31 AM »
Marjolijn,


I use iMac (OSX10.4.11) and PhotoMechanic 4.5.4

Is there also a possibility to see the image in a magnification like the magnification of 100%
in PhotoShop (using raw files).

What type of RAW files, from what camera model?

In general, PM uses the embedded JPEG preview in the RAW file to generate previews.  Most modern cameras include a very high resolution if not a full resolution preview.

The Zoom pane of the Preview window will allow you to zoom in at 100% of the embedded JPEG preview.  Additionally, you can enable RAW rendering on the Mac version and Apple's ImageIO will render the RAW image data (albeit slowly).

Download the full manual from our site for more information on this.  http://www.camerabits.com

-Kirk

Offline franslemmens

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: magnification
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2008, 07:51:18 AM »
Dear Kirk,

I have Canon Eos 1ds Mark II raw files. I only shoot in raw (no jpg).

I changed the preferences (Raw)
I enabled RAW Rendering and under 'For Raw only' I changed into:
Render Raw for Preview if possible.

Although slowly, it works.

It means if necessary I can make selections  more accurately
in the beginning stage.

So thank you very much.

Marjolijn

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24681
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: magnification
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2008, 08:43:18 AM »
Marjolijn,

I have Canon Eos 1ds Mark II raw files. I only shoot in raw (no jpg).

I changed the preferences (Raw)
I enabled RAW Rendering and under 'For Raw only' I changed into:
Render Raw for Preview if possible.

Although slowly, it works.

It means if necessary I can make selections  more accurately
in the beginning stage.

If you want the combination of speed and RAW rendering, change the Previews to use embedded JPEGs for speed, and when you're in the Preview window and you want to see a full resolution image, you can press the 'q' key to toggle the quality to preview in RAW mode.  Pressing 'q' again will switch back to fast previewing.

HTH,

-Kirk

Offline FVlcek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
Re: magnification
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2008, 11:31:59 AM »
And as long as you have that contact sheet open, PM remembers for which files you have used the "q" shortcut and keeps the full rendered photo in cache, so on viewing the same photo again, you see it faster :)

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: magnification
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2008, 12:24:59 PM »
for what is the "q" shortcut good for? I cant see a function
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24681
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: magnification
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2008, 12:39:18 PM »
for what is the "q" shortcut good for? I cant see a function

On the Mac OS X version it toggles the Preview rendering quality.

-Kirk