Author Topic: IPTC settings for both Adobe & Nikon Capture NX2  (Read 2907 times)

Offline bazography

• View Profile
IPTC settings for both Adobe & Nikon Capture NX2
« on: June 18, 2012, 11:18:45 PM »
I’m a long time PM user but I’m new to Nikon Capture NX2. I have always used the preferences recommended in the PM user guide for Adobe products as Photoshop is my main editor, but now with Capture NX2 occasionally in the mix I’m wondering if I need to alter my IPTC preferences.

I don’t shoot raw often (maybe 10-20%). When I do have NEFs to process I plan to ingest using PM as usual, which is when I do the majority of my keywording etc. I have no interest in using Nikon Capture for metadata, it will strictly be used to process raw files to TIFs or JPGs.

I did some metadata testing with the above workflow using my current IPTC preferences set for Adobe products. The metadata in the resulting TIFs and JPGs from Nikon Capture appeared to be fine. However, there must be a good reason PM recommends different preferences for Nikon Capture and Adobe, so I’m still a bit concerned (or slightly paranoid perhaps...) that I might be missing an issue, or that issues could crop up down the road.

I know that I can create a snapshot of 2 sets of IPTC preferences and switch between Adobe and Nikon settings as needed, but I just know that I would end up creating more problems as I’d constantly be forgetting to switch it back. If one set of preferences will work in my situation that would be ideal.

So can anyone tell me what (if any) issues might occur if I use Adobe IPTC settings with Nikon Capture? By sticking with PM for all metadata editing does that mean I shouldn’t run into any problems? I want to make sure I get this right from the start... don’t want any surprizes down the road.

Offline Hayo Baan

• Uber Member
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: IPTC settings for both Adobe & Nikon Capture NX2