Author Topic: Renaming file by excluding some signs (in this precise case: extension)  (Read 3601 times)

Offline CameraNera

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Hello,

I am not completely a newbie in PhotoMecanic but still have lots to learn... ;D

I juste renamed a bunch of files using the "save selected photos as" function from my contact sheet.
I had RAW files and I wanted them to be lighter JPGS to show them to my costumer and used the variable "(new name of my file)_{filename}".

What bother me, it that I now have the file named "NewName_filenumber.RAW.jpg

But how could I exclude the letters "NEF", so that I only get "NewName_filenumber.jpg?

How could I have reached this result from the beginning while doing "saving as"?
And now that there is this mistake, can I correct it now with a new variable?

Is there a general way to suppress some signs in the name, no matter if they are letters or digits?

I am not really an expert with variables, as you can easily see  :-\

If anybody has a hint, I would be very glad to read it here and improve my knowledge of this great software.

Thanks a lot in advance,
best greetings from Europe,

CameraNera
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 12:09:38 PM by CameraNera »

Offline Ben Curtis

• View Profile
    • Snappertalk blog
Re: Renaming file by excluding some signs (in this precise case: extension)
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2014, 04:49:18 AM »
Use the variable {filenamebase} instead of {filename} will do what you want. I'm not sure if there's any way to correct what you've already done though...

Offline CameraNera

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2014, 06:13:49 AM »
Hi Ben,

thanks a lot, that's perfect.

I just tried it, took me not even one second and a half  :D Super!
And no problem, I will just erase the files with the "wrong" name... that's easier than trying to correct them I guess.

But I just would be curious, which is the way in general to tell PhotoMecanic to "erase" some signs of the name.