Author Topic: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format  (Read 34284 times)

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #15 on: May 02, 2015, 09:19:03 AM »
Jochen,

OK, neither the .TIF or .IIQ images load in high quality in the quick look feature of the Finder on my system.  I don't have either of the Apple apps you listed installed.

But we now know that if those apps are installed then the OS can load those images in high quality.  It may then be possible to modify Photo Mechanic to also load those images using the features of the OS on your system.

I'll check into it next week when I'm back at work.

-Kirk

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #16 on: May 02, 2015, 09:57:53 AM »
Hello Kirk

Thanks for feedback.
Jochen,

OK, neither the .TIF or .IIQ images load in high quality in the quick look feature of the Finder on my system.  I don't have either of the Apple apps you listed installed.

But we now know that if those apps are installed then the OS can load those images in high quality.  It may then be possible to modify Photo Mechanic to also load those images using the features of the OS on your system.

I'll check into it next week when I'm back at work.

-Kirk

OK, this sounds good. Thanks for support and happy see a "light at the end of tunnel".

Have a nice weekend.

Regards

Jochen

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2015, 01:06:33 PM »
Jochen,

Please download this build and give it a try:

http://www.camerabits.com/download/PhotoMechanic5R16399.dmg

Let me know how it works for you.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2015, 01:40:51 PM »
Jochen,

Please download this build and give it a try:

http://www.camerabits.com/download/PhotoMechanic5R16399.dmg

Let me know how it works for you.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Hello Kirk

Thanks for feedback and support.

I don't see a difference between V_16299 and V_16399, see screenshot.
Maybe I make a mistake or must do other work.
I have install the V_16399 near the V_16299.
Both have different names in folder application of Mac OS X 10.9.5.
So I can run one after the other. I haven't delete a preference before I install the V_16399.

Regards

Jochen



[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2015, 02:44:14 PM »
Jochen,

Thanks for feedback and support.

I don't see a difference between V_16299 and V_16399, see screenshot.
Maybe I make a mistake or must do other work.
I have install the V_16399 near the V_16299.
Both have different names in folder application of Mac OS X 10.9.5.
So I can run one after the other. I haven't delete a preference before I install the V_16399.

OK, then I'll have to add some logging code and get you to test and return the log file to me so I can see what is going on.  I'll get you an updated build and instructions, likely tomorrow.

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2015, 05:37:34 PM »
Jochen,

Please try this version (it won't likely improve things but it will give me information) :

http://www.camerabits.com/download/PhotoMechanic5R16400.dmg

Once you have run it, go to the Help menu and choose "Reveal Support Data..." and then post the zipped log file here.  Use the 'Attachments and other options' link when you're composing your reply to this message and there you'll be able to upload your file.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2015, 09:54:14 PM »
Once you have run it, go to the Help menu and choose "Reveal Support Data..." and then post the zipped log file here.  Use the 'Attachments and other options' link when you're composing your reply to this message and there you'll be able to upload your file.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Thanks for feedback. Hope I do the right work.
I start PM.
PM is open.
Then I add only here the zip from ~/Library/Caches/Photo Mechanic/PM_log.zip

Regards

Jochen



[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: May 04, 2015, 10:05:18 PM by spassig »

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #22 on: May 05, 2015, 07:04:32 AM »
I give additionally info:

Results:
Open pictures with Quick Look, iMac without Capture One, Mac OS X 10.8

CF016522 Kopie.IIQ
Picture size: Small
Quality: Bad
Color: Normal

CF016522.DNG
Picture size: Big
Quality: Good
Color: Not normal

CF016522.TIFF
Picture size: Small
Quality: Bad
Color: Normal

Results:
Open pictures with Quick Look, iMac with Capture One, Mac OS X 10.9.5

CF016522 Kopie.IIQ
Picture size: Middle
Quality: Good
Color: Normal

CF016522.DNG
Picture size: Big
Quality: Good
Color: Not normal

CF016522.TIFF
Picture size: Small
Quality: Bad
Color: Normal

Jochen

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #23 on: May 05, 2015, 09:18:30 AM »
Jochen,

Once you have run it, go to the Help menu and choose "Reveal Support Data..." and then post the zipped log file here.  Use the 'Attachments and other options' link when you're composing your reply to this message and there you'll be able to upload your file.

Thanks for feedback. Hope I do the right work.
I start PM.
PM is open.
Then I add only here the zip from ~/Library/Caches/Photo Mechanic/PM_log.zip

That's exactly what I needed.  Here is a new build (it likely won't make any visible difference but will give me more information) :

http://www.camerabits.com/download/PhotoMechanic5R16401.dmg

Please send me the updated zipped log file.

-Kirk

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #24 on: May 05, 2015, 09:27:04 AM »
Zip Zip Zip  :)

Jochen

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #25 on: May 05, 2015, 09:41:07 AM »
Jochen,

Unfortunately, it appears that Apple's ImageIO framework cannot render your IIQ images.  I'll try one last change to see if it will make any difference but I don't expect it to work.  I'll have a new build for you in a few minutes.  I don't know why the quick look feature works for (perhaps PhaseOne installed a quicklook handler) you.

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #26 on: May 05, 2015, 09:49:36 AM »
Jochen,

Please try this build: http://www.camerabits.com/download/PhotoMechanic5R16402.dmg

Please send me the zipped log file.  Also make note of any improvements.  (Or that there are no improvements at all.)

-Kirk

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #27 on: May 05, 2015, 10:10:32 AM »
Jochen,

Please try this build: http://www.camerabits.com/download/PhotoMechanic5R16402.dmg

Please send me the zipped log file.  Also make note of any improvements.  (Or that there are no improvements at all.)

-Kirk

Hello Kirk

Hope there isn't misunderstanding.

What do You mean with improvements?

I install PM5, change the name in Application with an V ...  at the end, than I start PM5 ..., select relevant Folder with pictures, use Help > Reveal Support Data and attach .zip in thread.

So I don't carry out improvements.

Is that right?

Jochen


Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #28 on: May 05, 2015, 10:33:02 AM »
Jochen,

Unfortunately, it appears that Apple's ImageIO framework cannot render your IIQ images.  I'll try one last change to see if it will make any difference but I don't expect it to work.  I'll have a new build for you in a few minutes.  I don't know why the quick look feature works for (perhaps PhaseOne installed a quicklook handler) you.

-Kirk

Following Info I received from PhaseOne some days before:

Die eingebetteten Previews in den RAW-Dateien dienten hauptsächlich dazu, im Finder alter Mac OS X-Versionen zumindest eine kleine Vorschau anzeigen zu können. Mittlerweile lässt sich dies durch Quicklook anders handhaben. so dass in der Vorschau bzw im Finder schon eine höher auflösende Preview gerendert wird. Ist einmal Capture One auf einem aktuellen Mac OS X installiert, werden die Previews auch entsprechend größer gerändert.

Jochen

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #29 on: May 05, 2015, 11:18:18 AM »
Jochen,

Please try this build: http://www.camerabits.com/download/PhotoMechanic5R16402.dmg

Please send me the zipped log file.  Also make note of any improvements.  (Or that there are no improvements at all.)

Hope there isn't misunderstanding.

What do You mean with improvements?

I install PM5, change the name in Application with an V ...  at the end, than I start PM5 ..., select relevant Folder with pictures, use Help > Reveal Support Data and attach .zip in thread.

So I don't carry out improvements.

In this last version I forced Apple's ImageIO technology to try and load and render images from your camera even though ImageIO says your camera is not supported.  If it makes the images look better, then I want to know.  If they still view with bad quality, then I want to know.

Thanks,

-Kirk