Author Topic: dumb question -- can I customize folder names  (Read 4760 times)

Offline leland

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
dumb question -- can I customize folder names
« on: June 25, 2008, 04:35:42 PM »
Hi,

This is a very dumb question, I'm just getting started and playing with the software.

I'm trying to use a directory structure on export that is something like this:

Photos\YYYY\MM\YYYY-MM-DD\YYYY-MM-DD-HH-MM-SS_SEQUENCE#.ext

1. Can I use the syntax and customize folder and file names like this on import? Or do I need to import and then rename?
2. When files are on the camera (or in an import directory), what is the best way to separate them into different jobs if I want to add a short descriptive name for the job type and/or camera type?

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: dumb question -- can I customize folder names
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2008, 05:02:02 PM »
I'm trying to use a directory structure on export that is something like this:

Photos\YYYY\MM\YYYY-MM-DD\YYYY-MM-DD-HH-MM-SS_SEQUENCE#.ext

1. Can I use the syntax and customize folder and file names like this on import? Or do I need to import and then rename?

You can get Ingest to create folder structures like you have described.  You'll have to indicate your wishes in two different places in the Ingest dialog.  First for the folder naming, you need to change the 'Copy Photos:' popup to read 'into folder with name' and then in the 'Folder Name:' field enter:

{year4}\month0}\{year4}-{month0}-{day0}

Then set the checkbox titled 'Rename Ingested photos as:' to on and enter:

{year4}-{month0}-{day0}-{hour24}-{minute}-{second}_{seqn}