Author Topic: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format  (Read 34299 times)

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« on: April 30, 2015, 08:40:04 AM »
Hello to forum  ;D

I'm new in this forum.
I use(ed) different software to process RAWs from DSLRs (Canon, Phase One).
I would test PM5 for files from PhaseOne digiback for:
- checking,
- rating,
- keywording,
- and so on.

I read in www following.

"The RAWs from Phase One Digiback shown in PM5 as bad, verpixelte previews."

If it so than PM5 cannot support IIQ Phase One RAW Format.
If it so than I cannot use PM5 to check and rate the quality of my PO RAWs.

Is the info in statement correct or wrong?

If the info correct why camerabits wrote that PM5 support  IIQ Phase One RAW Format?

Use someone PM5 and  IIQ Phase One RAW Format and it works well?

Regards

Jochen


Offline Mick O (Camera Bits)

  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 536
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2015, 09:51:41 AM »
Hi Jochen,

The issue is that to display RAW files quickly, Photo Mechanic uses the JPG info that is embedded in most RAW files.  Most cameras include a very usable JPG image in the raw file.  The PhaseOne back however only includes a very small jpg.  200x200 I think.  When this is used in Photo Mechanic, it looks quite poor.

http://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?topic=6564.0

If you are on Mac, you can have Photo Mechanic render the full Raw file (though it will be slower)   (If you are on Windows this is not possible)
Another option is to use Adobe's DNG convertor to create DNGs and embed a larger JPG in the DNG.

I hope this explains it.

-Mick

Mick O
Camera Bits

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2015, 10:25:47 AM »
Hi Jochen,

The issue is that to display RAW files quickly, Photo Mechanic uses the JPG info that is embedded in most RAW files.  Most cameras include a very usable JPG image in the raw file.  The PhaseOne back however only includes a very small jpg.  200x200 I think.  When this is used in Photo Mechanic, it looks quite poor.

http://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?topic=6564.0

If you are on Mac, you can have Photo Mechanic render the full Raw file (though it will be slower)   (If you are on Windows this is not possible)
Another option is to use Adobe's DNG convertor to create DNGs and embed a larger JPG in the DNG.

I hope this explains it.

-Mick

Thanks Mick for quick feedback.

I use Mac OS X 10.9.5.

I read on site of camerabits:

http://www.camerabits.com/support/resources/supported-file-types/

the info:

RAW File Formats

>> IIQ Phase One RAW Format.

You wrote PM uses 200 x 200 small JPGs.

So my understanding is that PM don't support RAWs from PO digital back or bigger JPGs or this isn't a misunderstanding info.

In your link the last answer is from August 27, 2011, 09:59:35

"I think the only viable solution may be to convert your files to dng and have the conversion create a (full size) preview."

Today is 2015!!! No evolution in 4 years?

I think You are agree with me that this isn't a professional solution.

I don't understand Your answer:

If you are on Mac, you can have Photo Mechanic render the full Raw file (though it will be slower)

In which way can I do this?

Maybe I can test it.

Regards

Jochen

Offline Odd Skjaeveland

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2015, 04:13:33 PM »
...Today is 2015!!! No evolution in 4 years?

I think most PM users would be frustrated if their camera only embedded a 200x200 pixel jpeg image inside the raw file. PM relies on jpeg images embedded in raw files, PM does not itself use the raw image data. A Nikon camera puts a full resolution jpeg image in the raw file(.NEF) along with the raw data and the camera settings used to create that jpeg from those raw data. PM extracts and displays the embedded jpeg image, PM does not handle Nikon's raw image data. Nor does PM handle Phase One raw image data. Alas,  the only jpeg image the Phase One raw file makes available to PM seems to be 200x200px.

--
Odd S.
--
Odd S.

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2015, 08:46:41 PM »
@ Mike
@ Odd

Now it's more clear for me. I hope.
I assume the problem of small preview is a problem with PhaseOne digiback.
I have store different DSLRs pictures on my HD. Canon, Fuji, Kodak, Nikon, Panasonic.
I use different Software on my Mac. This pictures are shown with good quality in Software and PM.
For pictures with PO digiback I use Capture One in the past and future.

Now I learned:
All Software and the finder of Mac OS X use the embedded pictures.
Yes or No?

Now it's clear for me that PhaseOne digiback have small embedded pictures.
Yes or No?

If Yes I must ask Phase One what the reason is for small embedded images.

I think Phase One digibacks user normally apply Phase One Software, e.g. Capture One and Media Pro.

I come to PM5 to handle Keywords better as with Capture One.

Regards

Jochen

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2015, 12:21:27 AM »
If you are on Mac, you can have Photo Mechanic render the full Raw file (though it will be slower)
-Mick

Yes, I have a Mac.
I found today in Preferences the setting For RAW only: > Render RAW for Preview if possible
I have it done but the previews don't change:

My questions:
a) It is not possible with IIQ Phase One RAW Format?
b) I make a mistake?

Regards

Jochen

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2015, 07:46:13 AM »
Jochen,

If you are on Mac, you can have Photo Mechanic render the full Raw file (though it will be slower)

Yes, I have a Mac.
I found today in Preferences the setting For RAW only: > Render RAW for Preview if possible
I have it done but the previews don't change:

My questions:
a) It is not possible with IIQ Phase One RAW Format?
b) I make a mistake?

To find out if your Mac supports your RAW file format, open up your image in the built-in Preview application.  If the image renders in high resolution, then PM should also render your image.  If it fails to render, then PM will also be unable to render.

One other way would be to try and convert your images to DNG.  Then PM will definitely be able to show your images properly.

-Kirk

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2015, 08:31:27 AM »
@ Kirk.
Thanks for feedback. I'm not so familiar with PM5. I test it since yesterday.

To find out if your Mac supports your RAW file format, open up your image in the built-in Preview application. 
You mean the command:

Menu > Image > Preview?

If Yes I do this and see no different as before. The picture has bad quality, see attachment. Is my iMac or graphic card not suitable for this workflow?


If the image renders in high resolution, then PM should also render your image.  If it fails to render, then PM will also be unable to render.
I'm not familiar with the word "render" and his meaning yet.
Does it mean only a "better quality" or is it the same as convert in other format?

One other way would be to try and convert your images to DNG.  Then PM will definitely be able to show your images properly.

This is possible, You see in attachment the DNG format.

Jochen

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2015, 09:00:43 AM »
Jochen,

Thanks for feedback. I'm not so familiar with PM5. I test it since yesterday.

To find out if your Mac supports your RAW file format, open up your image in the built-in Preview application. 
You mean the command:

Menu > Image > Preview?

No.  I mean for you to go run the Preview application that exists on all Mac OS X systems in the Applications folder and open your image.  If you do this, does the image look to be of high quality?

-Kirk

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2015, 09:22:26 AM »

No.  I mean for you to go run the Preview application that exists on all Mac OS X systems in the Applications folder and open your image.  If you do this, does the image look to be of high quality?

-Kirk

OK, thanks. My misunderstanding.
Preview show also bad quality.
So I repeat my statement that PM5 cannot render / support IIQ files from PO.
Only convert in DNG works.

That was not so clear for me.

Jochen

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2015, 01:21:04 PM »
I have carry out following:

I have duplicate one picture on my Mac:

Original:
Name: CF016522.TIF
Art: TIFF-Bild
Größe: 45,5 MB
Bildgröße: 208 × 156

Bad small preview in finder of Mac OS X 10.9.5

Duplicate with changing suffix
Name: CF016522 Kopie.IIQ
Art: Phase One RAW image
Größe: 45,5 MB
Bildgröße: 5412 × 7216

Good big preview in finder of Mac OS X 10.9.5

In PM5 both pictures CF016522.TIF  and CF016522 Kopie.IIQ bad quality.

Mac OS X can render a good preview from .IIQ.
PM5 cannot render a good preview from .IIQ.

Why?

Jochen

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2015, 02:19:51 PM »
Jochen,

I managed to find a Phase One .IIQ file.  I tried it with Preview on my Mac OS X 10.9.5 system and Preview will not render it.  The RAW rendering capability of Mac OS X depends on whether you have a recent iPhoto, Aperture, or Photos app on your system.

I do not have any of those applications so my system's RAW rendering capability is diminished in regards to IIQ files.

Do you have any of Apple's recent photography applications installed on your machine?

Either way, PM does not render IIQ RAW files directly.  Converting to DNG is a solution.

Otherwise I have no other methods to offer you to work with Phase One RAW files with Photo Mechanic.

-Kirk

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2015, 09:37:58 PM »
@Kirk
Thanks for feedback.
I'm not native English speaker so I'm not sure that I understand Your answer.

Before I give details in my answer a little explanation from PhaseOne for different suffix TIFF and IIQ:
The reason for tiff is the technology pre-dates the OS quick look architecture we have now .Tif was used as a common file type so that thumbnail can be seen and displayed in the finder/explorer without proprietary software. IIQ was introduced to prevent users confusing Tif RAW and Tiff processed, but is fundamentally the same file."


Jochen,
I managed to find a Phase One .IIQ file.  I tried it with Preview on my Mac OS X 10.9.5 system and Preview will not render it.

Attached two screenshots with data of pictures as I wrote in my post  on: Today at 01:21:04 pm. You see the different in data and quality.
The screenshot ist made in finder of Mac OS X 10.9.5.

I mark the pictures and don't use the application preview.
Instead I use the key Space and I see the pictures immediate in finder.
You see the result in next two screenshots in same scale.
.TIFF can open in application preview, see text right top.
.IIQ cannot open in application preview but in application Capture One, see text right top.

I think the Mac OS X can handle IIQ files.

You are agree?

Regards

Jochen

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: May 02, 2015, 12:04:33 AM by spassig »

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24801
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2015, 10:30:44 PM »
Jochen,

I'll try that myself and get back to you tomorrow.

-Kirk

Offline spassig

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PM5 and IIQ Phase One RAW Format
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2015, 01:15:12 AM »
Do you have any of Apple's recent photography applications installed on your machine?

Yes, on my iMac with Mac OS X 10.9.5 Aperture 3.5.1 runs. I use this.
Yes, on my iMac with Mac OS X 10.9.5 iPhoto 9.5.1 is installed. I don't use this.

Jochen
« Last Edit: May 02, 2015, 01:24:11 AM by spassig »